January 2020

January 2020
Posted on 01/08/2020
January 2020

January Teacher Feature
Ms. Knight
The Darlington County School District's Teacher Forum announced this week the Teacher Feature winners for January.  The program recognizes one teacher from each school to honor excellence in education.  Congratulations to Ms. Jill Knight!  She is our Social Studies Department Head, teaches US History, AP US History and Government/Economics.  She is also the Student Council and Prom Adviser.  

Teacher Feature is coordinated by the district's Teacher Forum, which is comprised of each school's Teacher of the Year.  The purpose of the Teacher Forum is to foster professional growth and teacher leadership.

The Teacher Feature program is sponsored by Better Homes and Gardens Segars Realty.  Honorees receive free meals at local restaurants and recognition in their schools.

Grant Winners!
Congratulations to Mrs. Carla Doke for being awarded her Donors Choose Grant project entitled "Spanish Comes to Life In the Classroom".  She will be receiving 25 sets of headphones for the students to use in the Spanish classroom setting.

Congratulations to Mrs. Genovia Miles for being awarded her Donors Choose Grant project entitled "Cut Up Paper for Math".  She will be receiving paper trimmers, colored paper, and graph paper to use in her math classroom.

All-County Music Festival
On Thursday, January 9 our music students participated in an excellent performance at the All-County Music Festival hosted by Coker College.  Congratulations to Mr. Cole Davis and his music students!  Thank you, Mrs. Blankenship, for assisting Mr. Davis.

Academic Challenge Team vs. Lake View
On Wednesday, January 15 our Academic Challenge Team completed against Lake View High School with a score of 18-28, we lost but it was a great match.  Congratulations to  Lake View.  Thank you to our Advisers Mrs. Nancy Fletcher and Mrs. Sharon Cox.  Thank you to Ms. Paulette Lunn for being our host, Mrs. Carol Ross for being the official scorekeeper and to Mrs. Lyn O'Donnell, Ms. Charissa Lannan, and Mrs. Dawn Taylor for being judges.  Thank you!

Academic Challenge Team vs. Latta
On Wednesday, January 22 our Academic Challenge Team competed against Latta High School.  The score was 23-26, we lost but it was a close match!  Congratulations Latta.  Good fight Mayo!  Thank you to our Advisers Mrs. Nancy Fletcher and Mrs. Sharon Cox.  Thank you to Ms. Paulette Lunn for being our host, Mrs. Carol Ross for being the official scorekeeper and to Mrs. Lyn O'Donnell and Mrs. Dawn Taylor for being judges.  Thank you!

FBLA District III Leadership Conference
On Saturday, January 25 our Mayo FBLA Chapter participated in the SC-FBLA District III Leadership Conference at West Florence High School.  The following students place din the top 5 and came home with medals.
First Place
Riley Watson - Journalism
Deirdre Currin - Business Communication

Second Place
Hasanna Davis - Personal Finance
Eric Douglas - Computer Problem Solving

Third Place
Devon Chapman - Business Communication
Jackson Matthews - Graphic Design
Madison Lynn - Advertising

Fourth Place
Chris Colclough - Computer Problem Solving

Thank you to Ms. Charissa Lannan and Mrs. Gina Benjamin our FBLA advisers.  Congratulations to all our winners!

Miss Mayo 2020

Miss Mayo 2020
On Saturday, January 25 the annual Miss Mayo Pageant was held at Center Theater in Hartsville, SC.  The winners are pictured above (left to right:
Miss Freshman: Anna Grace Burr
Miss Sophomore: Makayla Cusack
Miss Mayo: Riley Watson
Miss Junior: Shiree Davis
Miss Senior: Natalie Hinson
Miss Congeniality: Keating Jackson

Special thanks for Mrs. Jennifer Blankenship for serving as this year's pageant coordinator again.  A special thanks for those who helped:  Mrs. Barbara Jenkins for the programs, tickets, and supplies.  Mr. Kim Cranford for allowing us to use the Center Theater to host our pageant.  Mrs. Cindy Bryant for providing the floral arrangements and helping in the box office.  Ms. Paulette Lunn for serving as our lovely and funny Master of Ceremonies.  Mrs. Cindy Bryant and Mrs. Laura Byrd for helping with the tickets and programs in the box office.  Lt. Steve Buffkin and Officer Paul Bryant for handling security.  Mrs. Elizabeth Thompson, Ms. Jill Knight, Mrs. Nancy Fletcher, Mrs. Lyn O'Donnell, Mrs. Ruth Taylor, and Mrs. Danielle Watkins for helping backstage and where ever needed.  Mrs. Vonda Baker for serving as our auditor and Mrs. Crystal Grant as her assistant.  Mrs. Lyn O'Donnell and her art students for the stage decorations.  Paris Bostic, Pierson Braddock, Dean Gerald, Ranse Hatchell, and Adrian Pooler for being our handsome escorts.  Bryan Andrews, Hunter Blankenship, and Gabe Gainey for handling the stage music.  Payton Bryant, Benson Mark and Jiavanna Maark for helping as greeters with tickets and programs.  Carley Yarbrough, Madison Meggs, and Alex Barber for serving as stag managers.  Gracie Helms, Mallory Tingen, and Addison Windham for serving as backstage assistants.  MyKenna Blankenship, Chelsea Jacobs, Mallory Tingen, and Addison Windham for their help with the opening number.  Mrs. Dohnia Galloway, Brynn Edwards, Abbi Weatherford, and Ms. Jill Knight for being our photographers/videographer.  The judges, the 24 beautiful contestants, the Brenda Cranford Dance Studio, Mr. Cole Davis with Phoenix Phame for providing entertainment.  There are countless others, but THANK YOU to all who helped make the program a big success.  We had a great time and a great crowd.  CONGRATULATIONS to all!

All-In ACT Test Prep
On Wednesday, January 29 our class of 2021 participated in the annual All In One ACT Test Prep in the Mayo Conference Center.  The presenters were very complimentary of the students' attentiveness and behavior. They will take the ACT on February 25, 2020.  We wish them luck!

Academic Challenge Team vs. Lamar
On Wednesday, January 29 our Academic Challenge Team played against Lamar High School and won, 28-13.  Congratulations!  Thank you to their advisers, Mrs. Nancy Fletcher and Mrs. Sharon Cox.