February 2020

February 2020
Posted on 02/04/2020

Teacher Feature for February
Mrs. Baker
Congratulations to Mrs. Vonda Baker!! Mr.s Baker teaches Differential AP-Calculus, Algebra II, and  Geometry.  She is also adviser for our SADD club and Mu Alpha Theta Math Honor Society.  

The Darlington County School District's Teachers Forum announced recently the December Teacher Feature winners.  The program recognizes one teacher from each school to honor excellence in education.  The purpose of the Teacher Forum is to foster professional growth and teacher leadership.  The Teacher Feature Program is sponsored by the Better Homes and Gardens Segars Realty.  Honorees receive free meals at local restaurants and recognition at their school.

Academic Challenge Team
Academic Challenge Team
On Wednesday, February 5 our Academic Challenge Team won their final season match against Lee-Central High School with a score of 29-3!  Congratulations!!  Next stop is the Pee Dee Tournament Saturday, February 22 at Frances Marion University.  Good luck!

Our Academic Challenge Team had a great season 4-2.  Please continue to support our Academic Challenge team.  

Beta Club Convention
Beta 2020
The Beta Club attended the State Beta Club Convention in Myrtle Beach February 6-9. Kudos to Mrs. Genovia Miles, Ms. Paulette Lunn and our National Beta Club for a very successful State Beta Club Convention.

Congratulations to our National Beta Club - recipients of 18 State Awards:

1st Place
Technology - Deirdre Currin and Haley Bryant
Drawing-Division II - Tatum Clontz
AgriScience Grade 11 - Anderson Hulsey
3D Design - Da'Sean Sims

2nd Place
Show Choir
Painting - Division I - Evan Crews
AgriScience - Grade 10 - Brodie Clontz
Fiber Arts - Aryal Wilson
Living Literature
Poetry - Division II - Da'Sean Sims
Woodworking - Division I - Jonathan Jordan

3rd Place
Math Grade 11 - Clay Ewing
Math Grade 12 - Ranse Hatchell
Character Performance
Portfolio - Deirdre Currin, Timia Mitchell, Bethany Rowe
Onsite Drawing - Division II - Tatum Clontz
Digital Drawing - Division II - Josh Riley

A special thank you to Mrs. Cindy Bryant, Mrs. Nancy Fletcher, Mrs. Gina Benjamin, Mrs. Lyn O'Donnell, Mrs. Danielle Watkins, Mrs. Crystal Grant, Mr. Jay Flowers and Mr. Cole Davis for assisting as excellent chaperones/directors/moms/dads/sisters/brothers/doctors, nurse, psychologist, etc.  Mrs. Miles and Ms. Lunn served as coordinators and Ms. Lunn and Mrs. O'Donnell served as judges at the convention.  We had over 120 individuals with students, chaperones, family, and guests, proudly representing Mayo!  Shout out to all of the students who competed.  So PROUD of these students!!  We have Phoenix Pride! 

We want to say Congratulations!  They brought home 18 awards.

Cole Davis Named  Educator of the Year!
Cole Davis
On Monday, February 10 our very own Mr. Cole Davis was named the Greater Darlington Chamber of Commerce Public Educator of the Year! Mr. Davis teaches, chorus, band, and piano.  He is also the conductor leader of our Show Choir, Phoenix Phame and 405 groups.  Congratulations Mr. Davis!