February 2019

February 2019

February Teacher Feature Winner
Baker teacher feature
Congratulations to Mrs. Vonda Baker!  Mrs. Baker teaches Algebra II, Geometry, Pre-Calculus and Calculus.  The Darlington County School District's Teacher Forum announced recently the Teacher Feature winners for February.  The program recognizes one teacher from each school to honor excellence in education. The purpose of the Teacher Forum is to foster professional growth and teacher leadership.

The Teacher Feature Program is sponsored by Better Homes and Gardens Segars Realty.  Honorees receive free meals at local restaurants and recognition in their schools.

SC-FBLA District III Competitions

On Saturday, February 2, our FBLA Chapter members competed in the SC-FBLA District 3 Competitions held at West Florence High School.  Congratulations to Ms. Charissa Lannan, Mrs. Gina Benjamin, and our FBLA Chapter for winning the following awards:
1st Place - Sports & Entertainment Management:  Natalie Hinson & Yorel Stevenson
1st Place - Digital Video Production - Chris Colclough, Eric Douglas, and Deirdre Currin
1st Place - Introduction to Financial Math - Hasanna Davis
1st Place - Business Communications - Riley Watson
2nd Place - Economics - Aytiana McCoy
3rd Place - Journalism - Kemoni Cannon
5th Place - Sports & Entertainment Management: Jamel Eley & Jy'Keem Taylor
Now, let's get ready for State Competitions held in Charleston, SC on March 22 -23!

State Beta Club Convention!
‚ÄčOur Mayo Beta Club chapter attended the State Convention held in Myrtle Beach the weekend of Thursday, February 8-Sunday, February 10 2019.  Kudos to Mrs. Genovia Miles, Paulette Lunn and our National Beta Club for a very successful State Beta Club convention. 

Congratulations to our National Beta Club - recipients of 21 state awards:
SC State Beta Club Vice-President: Erial Cooper
1st place Show Choir
1st place Technology - Isabella Haynes
1st place Robotics 
1st place Creative Writing - Division II - Riley Watson
1st place Digital Art - Division I - Josh Riley
1st place Drawing - Division I - Mallory Tingen
1st place On-site Drawing - Tatum Clontz
2nd place Performing Arts - Solo, Duo & Trio
2nd place Woodwork Division I- Josh Riley
2nd place Recyclable Art - Gracie Thompson
3rd place Spanish Division I - Gabe Gainey
3rd place On-site Drawing Division I - Dalania Hatchell
3rd place Math Division I - Clay Ewing
3rd place Social Studies Division I - Caden Booth
3rd place Woodworking Division I - Isabella Haynes
3rd place Painting Division II - Isabella Haynes
3rd place Sculpture - Tanner Vause
3rd place Group Talent
3rd place Campaign Skit
Convention Growth Award
Beta 2019
A special thank you to Mrs. Cindy Bryant, Mrs. Nancy Fletcher, Mrs. Gina Benjamin, Mrs. Lyn O'Donnell, Coach Pietrzak, Ms. Brittany Miles, Mr. Jay Flowers and Mr. Cole Davis for assisting as excellent chaperones/directors/ moms/dads/sisters/brothers/doctors, nurses, psychologist, etc.  Mrs. Miles and Ms. Lunn served as coordinators and Ms. Lunn and Mrs. O'Donnell served as a judge at the convention.  We exceeded last year's awards by ten - most awards we have ever won at the State Convention in our school's history.  We had over 120 individuals with students, chaperones, family and guests, proudly representing Mayo!  Special thanks to Mrs. Danielle Watkins and Mrs. Anna Patton for coming down on Saturday to see the students perform their Living Literature skit.  Everyone had a blast!  Other attendees were very complimentary of our students.  Shout out to all of the students who competed.  We are so PROUD of these students!!  We have PHOENIX PRIDE!!

Another Win for the Academic Challenge Team!
Our Academic Challenge Team played against Lee Central today, Wednesday, February 20 and had another win of 21-9!